About Us
Church information and history
This splendid example of 15th Century perpendicular architecture, situated next to Tattershall Castle, was built by Ralph Lord Cromwell and started in about 1440 under a charter granted by Henry IV, It was completed by about 1480 and in its heyday had seven priests, one of which was the warder, six secular clerks and six choristers. The church provided at least one chorister for Margaret Beaufort, Countess of Richmond and mother to Henry VII.
When finished the building would have been magnificent, with some of the finest stained glass in England. The remains of which can be seen in the great East Window. There are six brasses which have been moved into the North Transept, for safe keeping. You can also see Tom Thumb's grave, which is by the font
The Church is open every day between Easter and the end of October. Refreshments are served on Sunday’s, Bank Holiday Saturday, Bank Holiday Monday’s and as many days as possible during the Summer Holiday’s. Parties and Guided tours by arrangement. For further information contact 01526 352322 or 01526 342223.
Church open times:
Also shown on notice board in North Porch entrance with contact information.Easter to end of September 9:30am to 4:00pm
October to Easter 10:00am to 3:30pm
Visitor Centre:
Our Visitor Centre is open for the sale of Refreshments and Gifts on Sundays through Wednesdays from 10.00am to 4.30pm from Easter until the end of September.
Coach and other large parties can be catered for by appointment - contact Sheila on 01526 352322
Rector, Administrator and Churchwardens
Our Priest in Charge is the Rev. Sally Clifton. Sally is available to contact by telephone on 07788 798419, or email [email protected]
Our Parish Administrator is Debbie Knight. Please feel free to contact Debbie on telephone 07842 202525, or email [email protected] for any enquiries about baptisms, weddings and funerals.